Ranji Trophy Final: 2nd consecutive win by vidarbha, beat saurashtra by 78 runs | Vidarbha defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs, sixth team to win two consecutive titles - Online Betting Guides
Connect with us

Sports News

Ranji Trophy Final: 2nd consecutive win by vidarbha, beat saurashtra by 78 runs | Vidarbha defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs, sixth team to win two consecutive titles

Aditya Sarvate of Vidarbha became Man of the Match, took 11 wickets, scored 49 runs
After 41 years in the final of the tournament, a player took 5 or more wickets in both innings

Nagpur. Vidarbha defeated Saurashtra by 78 runs in the Ranji Trophy final on Thursday. He won the tournament finals for the second consecutive year. He has become the sixth team to win two consecutive Ranji Trophy finals. Earlier, Mumbai, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Delhi, Rajasthan have won the title of Ranji Trophy for two consecutive terms.

Saurashtra team lost in final for third time

After Saurashtra's team reached the final for the third time, they missed the champions. Prior to this, he has also played Ranji Trophy final in 2012-13 and 2015-16. He had to face defeat both times in Mumbai.

Aditya Sarwate, equaling BS Chandrasekhar's Ranji Trophy final, after 41 years, a bowler took five or more wickets in both innings. Earlier, in 1977/78 BS Chandrashekhar had achieved this feat in both shifts.

At that time, BS Chandrashekhar played Karnataka for 57 runs in the first innings and 24 runs in the second innings and 6-6 wickets against Uttar Pradesh in the final. Karnataka won the match with an innings and 193 runs.

Before them, JB Khot (1941/42), CS Naidu, PK Shivalkar (1972/73), AM Ismail (1975/76) have also done such a thing CS Nayudu three times (1942/43, 1944/45, 1945/46) have accomplished this achievement in his name.

Vidarbha needed five wickets on Thursday for the fourth and final day on Thursday. At the same time, Saurashtra wanted 148 runs to become the champion for the first time.

Saurashtra got the target of 206 runs to win, but at the close of the game on Wednesday, his score was 58 for five wickets. On the fourth day, his last five batsmen could add only 69 runs.

Vidarbha won the toss and decided to bat in this match played at the Vidarbha Cricket Ground. He scored 312 in the first innings of 45 runs from Akshay Wadekar and unbeaten 73 off Akshay Karnewar.

Saurashtra's first innings was all out for 307 runs. On behalf of him, wicketkeeper Snell Patel (102) scored a century. At the same time, Jaydev Unadkat played an important innings of 46 runs.

Aditya Sarvate of Vidarbha scored five runs for 98 runs and Akshay Vakhre scored four for 80 runs. On the basis of the first innings, Vidarbha got the lead of 5 runs.

Vidarbha scored 200 runs in 10 overs in 92.5 overs in the second innings. Aditya Sarwate scored 49 runs for his side. Mohit Black scored 38 and Ganesh Satish scored 35 runs.

Dharmendra Singh Jadeja secured 6/96 from Saurashtra. Kamlesh Makwana gave two, while Jaidev Unadkat and Chetan Sakaria sent pavilions to one athlete.

In this way Saurashtra got the target of 206 runs to win. However, Aditya Sarwate, who took 6 wickets in 59 balls, gave up on his dreams. Saurashtra started poorly.

His first wicket fell only on 19 runs. By the time the team scored 55 runs, half of Saurashtra's team pavilion had returned. His seven batsmen could not reach the tenth digit.

For Saurashtra, Vishwaraj Jadeja top scored with 52 runs. The first innings century, SN Patel was able to make 12 runs. Apart from these, Kamlesh Makwana (14) and Dharmendra Singh Jadeja (17) only reached the tenth point.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports News