Misra interrupted Khalil in the last over of Delhi's innings against Hyderabad
According to Law 37 of Cricket, he was considered out, this rule was made by MCC
Sports desk In the IPL Eliminator match on Wednesday, Delhi Capitals' Amit Mishra Sunrisers out against Hyderabad due to Obstructing the field. They are the first player to be out like this season. After 6 years in the tournament, no batsman is out due to obstructing fielder. Earlier, Yusuf Pathan, out of the Kolkata Knight Riders in 2013, was out against Pune Warriors India.
According to Cricket Law 37, if a batsman interferes the fielder with his bat or body during the run, then he will be called out. This law was made by the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the organization of cricket's rules.
Last over drama: Amit Mishra obstructs field https://t.co/mFth6QWYa1 via @ipl
– bishwa mohan mishra (@mohanbishwa) May 8, 2019
Mishra could not play Khalil's ball
Delhi needed two runs on 3 balls to win the last over. Khalil Ahmed's ball Amit Mishra could not play. The ball went to Wicketkeeper Riddhimaan Saha. He threw Kimo Paul out to the ball stumps to run out. The ball went to Khalil instead of being in the stump. After this, Khalil hit the non striker end, but Mishra came in front of him.
Delhi beat Hyderabad by 2 wickets
Khalil appealed to obstruct Mishra. It was obvious in Repli that Mishra had deliberately came in front of the wicket to stop the ball. On this, the third umpire called the batsman a run out. However, despite his dismissal, Delhi took the match away from it by two wickets. He will now play against the Chennai Super Kings on Qualifier 2 on May 10.